Return of the Song and Dance Man

August 13, 2008

I’m rather late in reading the news from that ‘Tell Tale Signs’ – the Bootleg Series Volume 8 – is to be released on 7 October.

If you go to that site you can download one of the tracks (Dreamin’ Of You) in its entirety.

This is the track-listing –

Disc One
1. Mississippi 6:04 (Unreleased, Time Out of Mind)
2. Most of the Time 3:46 (Alternate version, Oh Mercy)
3. Dignity 2:09 (Piano demo, Oh Mercy)
4. Someday Baby 5:56 (Alternate version, Modern Times)
5. Red River Shore 7:36 (Unreleased, Time Out of Mind)
6. Tell Ol’ Bill 5:31 (Alternate version, North Country soundtrack)
7. Born in Time 4:10 (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
8. Can’t Wait 5:45 (Alternate version, Time Out of Mind)
9. Everything is Broken 3:27 (Alternate version, Oh Mercy)
10. Dreamin’ of You 6:23 (Unreleased, Time Out Of Mind)
11. Huck’s Tune 4:09 (From Lucky You soundtrack)
12. Marchin’ to the City 6:36 (Unreleased, Time Out of Mind)
13. High Water (For Charley Patton) 6:40 (Live, August 23, 2003,Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada)

Disc Two
1. Mississippi 6:24 (Unreleased version #2, Time Out of Mind)
2. 32-20 Blues 4:22 (Unreleased, World Gone Wrong)
3. Series of Dreams 6:27 (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
4. God Knows 3:12 (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
5. Can’t Escape from You 5:22 (Unreleased, December 2005)
6. Dignity 5:25 (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
7. Ring Them Bells 4:59 (Live at The Supper Club, November 17, 1993,New York, NY
8. Cocaine Blues 5:30 (Live, August 24, 1997, Vienna, VA)
9. Ain’t Talkin’ 6:13 (Alternate version, Modern Times)
10. The Girl on the Greenbriar Shore 2:51 (Live, June 30, 1992,Dunkerque, France)
11. Lonesome Day Blues 7:37 (Live, February 1, 2002, Sunrise, FL)
12. Miss the Mississippi 3:20 (Unreleased, 1992)
13. The Lonesome River 3:04 (With Ralph Stanley, from the album Clinch Mountain Country)
14. ‘Cross the Green Mountain 8:15 (From Gods and Generals Soundtrack)

If you’ve got another £55 or so then you can upgrade to a so-called deluxe edition which features glossy booklets and a 7″ single etc and includes this 3rd disc –

Disc Three
1. Duncan and Brady (Unreleased, 1992)
2. Cold Irons Bound (Live, Bonnaroo, June 2004)
3. Mississippi (Unreleased version #3, Time Out of Mind)
4. Most of The Time (Alternate version #2, Oh Mercy)
5. Ring Them Bells (Alternate version, Oh Mercy)
6. Things Have Changed (Live, Portland, Oregon, 2000)
7. Red River Shore (Unreleased version #2, Time Out of Mind)
8. Born in Time (Unreleased version #2, Oh Mercy)
9. Tryin’ To Get To Heaven (Live, London, England, 2000)
10. Marchin’ to the City (Unreleased version #2, Time Out of Mind)
11. Can’t Wait (Alternate version #2, Time Out of Mind)
12. Mary and the Soldier (Unreleased, World Gone Wrong)

The 3-disc deluxe edition seems ridiculously expensive and only a madman would consider paying that price.

I think that’s the one I’ll be going for.

Money doesn’t talk – it swears. Wanna buy the deluxe edition?


One Response to “Return of the Song and Dance Man”

  1. Planning to help out a poor destitute singer songrwriter? High ideals indeed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: