It Was 39 Years Ago Today

August 15, 2008

15 August 1969

By the time we got to Woodstock
We were half a million strong
And everywhere there was song and celebration
And I dreamed I saw the bombers
Riding shotgun in the sky
And they were turning into butterflies
Above our nation
We are stardust
Billion year old carbon
We are golden
Caught in the devils bargain
And weve got to get ourselves
Back to the garden

8 Responses to “It Was 39 Years Ago Today”

  1. auld son Says:

    Almax
    you sure know how to tug at the memory bank
    well what I can remember about that year.Firstly you give us Dylan,then Neil Young,then CSNY,it will be Ten Years After,
    Country Joe and the Fish, Joan Baez,Santana,
    Nobody who was my age through that period can ever describe those wonderful times
    I bet you spent your easter and september weekends in the Ormidale Hotel on the beautiful island of Arran
    free summer concerts in London
    All you need is love
    Ispent my summer taking time off serving my time as an engineer and hitch hiking round Europe
    Can you imagine Big Rab he would have loved it but alas he was born too late

  2. KDD Says:

    39 years ..sigh. It’s a long time ago isn’t it? I would only have been thirteen but I remember it well.

    Apparently police laid on extra men as they were worried that up to 50,000 people might arrive for the two day event. They had an estimated 500,000 descend on Yasgur’s farm!!

    The lines you quote were of course from Joni Mitchell’s song of the event. She was invited to appear but had a prior engagement on U.S. t.v., The Johnny Cash Show I believe.

    She tells a funny story that on the first night of the event she was watching events unfurl on t.v. in a hotel room. She was sitting up in bed knitting. 🙂

    Things went peacefully but it rained heavily which nearly put paid to the event. Lots of U.K. acts there too, The Who, Tull, Joe Cocker.

    The next year was the ill-fated IOW event with famous Joni Mitchell incident. She was acosted by a drugged up hippy who wanted to “paint the fence invisible”:), became really upset and gave a good speech.

    Interesting times.

  3. KDD Says:

    Except, of course, Tull didn’t play Woodstock. My mind is playing tricks. :{

  4. almax Says:

    Kevin

    Did you ever receive any of the circular e-mails that I sent out in relation to the Heart Monitor? As you know, I have made that a private blog, and it had been my intention to include you as one of the 35 allowed viewers – as I very much enjoy your interesting comments – it looks like you maybe didn’t get my e-mails – what I need from you is your wordpress user name – you need to have a wordpress account (which is free) – if you reply here with your user name, I won’t post if obviously, but it will enable me to add you to the Heart Monitor viewers.

  5. KDD Says:

    Alistair, sorry for the late reply. I would definitely be interested in being added. If you don’t mind I will get back to you in a few days as I’m struggling a little with my health at the moment.

    Many thanks
    Kevin

  6. almax Says:

    Kevin

    I’m really sorry to hear that – I hope it’s nothing too serious and that you get well soon.

    Just get in touch whenever you can – there’a place reserved for you

    Al

  7. Anonymous Says:

    Alistair
    If you can add me I’ll try and access the site.

    Many thanks
    Kevin

  8. almax Says:

    Kevin

    OK – you should now be able to access the heart Monitor as before


Leave a Reply

